WEST BOW WELL
Situated at the foot of The West Bow, Victoria Street.
This was the first of the well heads built to supply water
to the Grassmarket from the reservoir at Castle Hill (Now
the Tartan Weaving Mill)
It designed by Robert Milne and was built in 1681
There are several well heads dotted down the Royal Mile,
none of which are in use today although each has it's own
character and are fascinating reminders of a past age.
The West Bow Well has a small iron door with the inscription:
The West-Bow Well
THE TOWN COUNCIL
Repaired and Altered by
Merchants West Bow
On The South Side is a drinking fountain with a carving
of the Edinburgh Coat of arms and Edinburgh's Motto
"NISI DOMINUS FRUSTRA"
Which translated from Latin means
"Without God Everything Fails"